The Songs of My Life…

A few years ago my good friend, Heidi (see her blog at Banana Buzzbomb), mentioned that she would like to host a, “songs of your life” home party. The basic idea of this party was to get  a bunch of girlfriends together, drink some wine, eat some chocolate, & each girl was to come up with 5 songs that could sum of their lives. I loved the idea of that! Not just because of the wine & chocolate, but the whole premise behind the party intrigued me (you would never find a bunch of guys getting together to do something like that!). Now to my knowledge, the party never happened & beyond talking of it during a work shift, I haven’t really thought of it since…until a few days ago. My mom lost her good friend, Tammy, almost a year ago to cancer. She heard a Martina McBride song on the radio (I’m gonna love you through it. Youtube it if you haven’t heard it, it’s a good one) that reminded her of Tammy & her husband, Jim. Heidi’s party idea popped into my head at that moment & it got my mind spinning…what songs would I pick to describe my life? To describe the ups & downs, the joys & heartaches…what songs would they be? I thought it would be an easy task to pick 5 songs, but I was very wrong! It’s amazing how certain songs are reserved for different periods of a person’s life, songs that are connected to specific memories. For instance, the Salt ‘n’ Pepa song, “Push It” always brings up memories of my 12-year-old self, roller skating at Skate World or “Remember When” by Alan Jackson is dripping with thoughts of my grandparents. And every relationship I’ve ever been in has a song attached to it, a song that transports me to a time or event that’s connected to that moment. But, to come up with 5 songs that are just about my life, about me only, and not associated with a memory…that turned out to be tough!

I’ve been working on this list for a few days. It’s been re-wrote & changed numerous times. I recognize that, my 31-year-old self, has picked these songs & that they’re dependent on my current mindset. As the years & my situations change my songs will probably change also.

As of today, these are the top 5 songs in the life of me…Carey Dawn Henderson.  🙂

1. Here Comes the Sun

-The Beatles-

Little darling,

the smiles returning to the faces

Little darling,

it seems like years since its been here

here comes the sun, here comes the sun,

and I say, it’s alright

-I’ve been through some tough times. This song is a good reminder that I got through them & it’s always been a lesson learned.

2. I Won’t Back Down

-Tom Petty & the Heartbreakers-

Well, I know what’s right. I got just one life

In a world that keeps on pushin’ me around

but I’ll stand my ground, and I won’t back down

Hey, baby there ain’t no easy way out

I will stand my ground and I won’t back down

-One of the most important things you can do in life is standing your ground when you know what’s right, even if you stand alone. I admire people who stand firm in their beliefs, even if they’re different from mine. You never know who could change your opinion on something or whose opinion you can change if you just take the time to listen to their point of view. And once your mind is made up on something, stand behind it & don’t apologize. I hope that others see me as someone who is strong in their convictions & not afraid of opposition.

3. Amazing Grace (my chains are gone)

-Chris Tomlin-

‘Twas grace that taught my heart to fear and grace my fears relieved

How precious did that grace appear, the hour I first believed

My chains are gone, I’ve been set free

My God, My Savior has ransomed me

and like a flood, his mercy reigns 

Unending love, Amazing Grace

-Amazing Grace, the hymnal that epitomizes the goodness & grace of God. I’ve made a lot of bad decisions & choices in my life. I’ve disappointed & hurt others, including myself. It’s amazing to me how forgiveness, both giving & getting, can free you. Forgiveness that, to me, has come from my relationship with God. Anybody whose ever had “chains” in their life & then been set free of them will understand how light you feel when the guilt & heaviness is gone. I’m not where I need to be, but I’m not where I was.

4. Great Day to be Alive

-Travis Tritt-

Yeah, I think I’ll make me some homemade soup

feeling pretty good & that’s the truth

neither drink nor drug induced

no, I’m just doing alright

And its a great day to be alive

I know the sun’s still shining when I close my eyes

there’s some hard times in the neighborhood

but why can’t everyday be just this good?

-It’s not always easy to keep peace & find joy in everyday situations. People always tell me how, “happy” I seem to be & how I’m always, “smiling”. Well, the truth is I’m not always feeling happy & I frown just as much as I smile. But, everyday I choose to smile & think happy thoughts…somedays I’m good at it, & other days I fail at it. But good or bad, it’s still in my control. A friend recently told me that she loves how, “simple” my life is. I take that as a compliment. I’ve done stress & complicated, so not a fan! By smiling, & being happy, I’ve found that peace & joy have slowly started to creep in.

5. I’ll stand by you

-The Pretenders-

Hey, what you got to hide?

I get angry too, well I’m a lot like you

When you’re standing at the crossroads

And don’t know which path to choose

Let me come along, cause even if you’re wrong

I’ll stand by you

-I think if you’re known as being an honest & loyal person, everything else is secondary. Because being those things stems into all other areas of your life. There’s been times in my life when I’ve struggled with both and because of those struggles I try to not pass judgement on others & I try to recognize that I don’t have the right to judge. I would never turn my back on someone & I will always believe that people can change, hearts can change, thoughts & actions can change. Addictions can be broken, hearts can mend, faith can be restored…nothing is ever impossible, but you need to have support from others. Regardless of how many times someone has failed, one time they won’t and I want to be around to see them victorious. I’ve had people never give up on me, and because of that I will never give up on anybody.

 

So, I’ve given you my song list, just a few lyrics of each, but it’ll give you the general idea.  Think about what songs you would pick to describe your life & the reasons why you’d pick it. It’s a fun little exercise to do with yourself & a great little conversation topic to have with someone. You’ll be surprised at what you realize about yourself & what you realize about others by the songs they pick. Life & people really are amazing!

4 Comments

Filed under *SMILE*, Faith & God, Family, Memories

4 responses to “The Songs of My Life…

  1. I never did have that party….maybe it’s time to revisit the idea….hmmmm. Love that you chose your songs 🙂

  2. hi… i was wondering if i can use this picture of babies that you have here on your blog..i want to actually make a baby shower invitation for my friend and use this picture.. i can make reference to your blog on my blog too if you want.. thank you..

    • Carey D. Henderson

      Oh absolutely, feel free!!! Thanks for asking & a reference would be terrific!!! Hope your baby shower turns out terrific 🙂

Leave a Reply

