“Ode to the Perfect Dog”

My sister-in-law, Robin, sent me a link to this poem several months ago & I came across it today while cleaning out old junk emails (its not classified as “junk” so it got saved, no worries Robin Smile)

She said it reminded her of how I talk about Waylon, my one-eyed, rough looking rescue Australian Cattle Dog (who happens to be snuggled up next to me in my oversized recliner).

If you know me, as I’m assuming you do if you’re reading this blog, then you already know about my love (obsession) with my big guy. I was just talking to my mom last night about him & told her that I can’t imagine having another dog in my life that is more perfect for me than he is! It’s truly been a God-thing how he came to be a part of my life & as the rescue-saying goes, “I didn’t rescue him, he rescued me.”

I’ve always been a big advocate & supporter for animal rescue, but after going through the process personally I’m even more passionate about the work. I urge everyone to look into rescue & adoption groups if you’re deciding to add a fur-baby into your family. I promise you won’t regret it. There’s nothing in the world quite like the love you get from a rescue pet; they come with memories of an, oftentimes, heartbreaking past. But trusting & grateful enough to pour out their love onto you! animalrescue1

The Perfect Dog

My son asked a question as little boys do
Of me in my wisdom and all that I knew.

“Is there a dog that is perfect?” he asked on a whim,
Well, I thought and I thought about where to begin.

“He’d have ears that were floppy… or cropped and alert
And eyes that were sleepy… or perky and pert,
He’d leap like a bunny or sit in your lap
And run fast as horses… or opt for a nap.

“A dog that is perfect would be covered in spots
Or maybe one-color … and then have spots-not.

“He’d be small as a teacup… or big as a house,
With a nose that seemed flattened … or long like a mouse,

“He’d swim and he’d hunt with a coat flying free
Or be dainty and delicate … and ‘He’d’ be a ‘She’

As I struggled to answer, and not with a clue,
My son, with a smile, said, out of the blue,
With the wisdom of children, what he already knew…

The dog that is perfect … is the one next to you.

– John O’Hurley

9.28.12 (2)

*My rescued love; Waylon Moonshine* 179299628884871512_astznf63_b

8.5.12 (500x289)

2 Comments

Filed under *SMILE*, All creatures great & small, Faith & God, Family, Fun-ness Aplenty!, Giggles & Laughs!, Inspiration, Memories, Quotes, Some thoughts..., The Adventures of Waylon Moonshine

2 responses to ““Ode to the Perfect Dog”

  1. My last 2 dogs as were my sisters last 4 dogs have all been rescue dogs!!! I am a HUGE advocate for rescue dogs!!! They appreciate and love you more than anything!!! Great blog!!!

    • Carey D. Henderson

      Long term goal is to one day run & have my own animal rescue. Very long term goal, but in the meantime I love learning all I can about the industry & being involved as much as I’m able too. There’s nothing else like it.

Leave a Reply

